Why is Internal Quality Assurance So Important? Trusted Site
4.78out of 5
291 reviews

Posted by: CTC Training

Internal Quality Assurance (IQA) is critical for maintaining the integrity of assessments within an organisation. It’s a comprehensive process that monitors the teaching, learning and assessment activities throughout the entirety of the training course.

There are many reasons why Internal Quality Assurance is a vital component to any training operation. Find out all you need to know about Internal Quality Assurance in this month’s article, including how you can become a qualified IQA.

Importance of Internal quality insurance

What is Internal Quality Assurance?

Internal Quality Assurance is the process of monitoring the quality of assessments within an organisation. IQAs are responsible for ensuring that all assessments are carried out fairly so that every learner has an equal opportunity to succeed. The system used to monitor these practices should be implemented throughout a learner’s time on a course and not just at the end. This should include everything from monitoring the application and interview process at the beginning to the follow-up on progression routes following completion.

What does Internal Quality Assurance provide?

The main benefits of Internal Quality Assurance are:

  • Standardisation – ensure all assessors are performing to the same standards across organisations
  • Feedback – obtaining and analysing learner feedback on their experiences with a provider
  • Sampling – reviewing learner evidence and assessor judgments and feedback
  • Improves end-user trust – learners will feel more confidence enrolling on a course where they know they will be assessed fairly

How to become an Internal Quality Assurer

Internal Quality Assurance is required by a large number of organisations across a wide range of industries. Becoming an IQA will open up new opportunities where you can gain new responsibilities and increase your salary. 

To become an internal quality assurer, you are required to complete an IQA course and earn the relevant IQA qualification. There are three different IQA qualifications, each of which bestows you with different levels of responsibility. 

The Level 4 Award in Understanding the Internal Quality Assurance of Assessment Processes and Practice (RQF) is ideal for managers or anyone who is already a qualified trainer or assessor and who wishes to brush up on their IQA knowledge and get a deeper understanding of the process and role.

The Level 4 Award in the Internal Quality Assurance of Assessment Processes and Practice (RQF) is for anyone who simply wants to become an internal quality assurer within an organisation.

The Level 4 Certificate in Leading the Internal Quality Assurance of Assessment Processes and Practice (RQF) is for anyone who wants to become the lead internal quality assurer within an organisation. 

All of the above courses are available for enrollment right now with CTC Training. At CTC, we offer online learning courses that you can complete on your own schedule. Simply enrol on a course and you’ll gain access to our 24/7 student portal, where you can view course content and upload assessments at your leisure. You’ll also be assigned a tutor who will be available for support and advice throughout your course.

Enrol on a course today and unlock your potential.


Rated 4.8out of 5
Based on 291 reviews Logo

Trusted by some of the UK’s biggest brands...



No products in the basket.