What Qualifications Do I Need for Quality Assurance? Trusted Site
4.78out of 5
291 reviews

Posted by: CTC Training

Becoming an Internal Quality Assurer (IQA) is a great opportunity for those looking to acquire valuable skills and improve their position in the job market. Plus, you’ll be rewarded with the knowledge that you’re helping organisations run fairly and responsibly.

In this article, we discuss what quality assurance is, why it’s important and which qualifications you need for a quality assurance role.

What is quality assurance?

Quality assurance is the process of maintaining a desired level of quality in a product or service. In the IQA role, quality assurance relates to the quality and fairness of assessments. Organisations hire IQAs to monitor the activities of assessors within their organisation to ensure that all assessments are conducted fairly.

Some of the responsibilities of an Internal Quality Assurer include:

  • Checking that assessors meet the requirements for their role
  • Planning and preparing monitoring activities
  • Working alongside assessors, trainers and employers to ensure the standardisation of assessment practices
  • Observing trainer and assessor performance, providing constructive feedback
  • Providing support to trainers and assessors 
  • Sampling assessment records and decisions
  • Meeting with learners
  • Planning how and when you will monitor trainers and assessors
  • Identifying and facilitating best practice throughout the organisation

Why is quality assurance important?

Quality assurance is vital for preventing quality failures within an organisation. Internal quality failures such as unfair assessments can have a dramatic impact on an organisation’s reputation. It can also lead to inadequate or disgruntled employees.

Noticing quality issues earlier will also save costs and fix the issues before they become much larger. Quality assurance also helps set the standard that should prevent the problems to begin with. 

What qualifications are required to carry out quality assurance?

There are three IQA qualifications available. If you wish to carry out quality assurance for an organisation, you will need the Level 4 Award in the Internal Quality Assurance of Assessment Processes and Practice (RQF). This qualification is the main IQA qualification and will allow you to perform quality assurance within an organisation.

What’s next after the Level 4 Award?

After becoming a qualified IQA, you may wish to obtain the Level 4 Certificate in Leading the Internal Quality Assurance of Assessment Processes and Practice (RQF). This qualification is the most advanced IQA qualification and will allow you to manage your own team of quality assurers. 

The Level 4 Award and Level 4 Certificate can be earned on CTC’s online training platform. Enrol today and you’ll gain access to our 24/7 student portal, where you can view course content and upload assessments at your leisure. We offer all the tools and support you need to succeed in your learning. 

Unlock your potential with CTC training. View our courses or contact our team for more information.


Rated 4.8out of 5
Based on 291 reviews Logo

Trusted by some of the UK’s biggest brands...



No products in the basket.