DTTLS/DET Qualification Guide Trusted Site
4.77out of 5
271 reviews

Posted by: CTC Training

If you’re aiming to become a teacher in the post-education sector, a DTTLS qualification (now known as the DET qualification) is one of the most advantageous qualifications to hold. In addition to providing you with a range of knowledge and skills, the Diploma in Education and Training will qualify you to apply for QTLS (Qualified Teacher Learning and Skills) status.

What is a DET qualification

Want to know more? In this guide, we explain everything you need to know about the Diploma in Education and Training.

What is the Diploma in Education and Training?

The Diploma in Education and Training (DET) is the current name for the DTLLS qualification. Technically, the DTLLS doesn’t exist anymore, but the names are often used interchangeably. 

The DET is a recognised teaching qualification for the post-16 education sector. It is the most advanced Education and Training qualification available, and though many people choose to earn the Level 3 and Level 4 awards before moving onto the DET, these qualifications are not mandatory for enrolment. You can enrol straight onto the level 5 course if you have the relevant academic skills to write assignments at degree level, are in a teaching role and can commit to the 100 hours of teaching practice required.

There are seven units within this course:

UNIT NO: 1 — Developing teaching, learning and assessment in education and training

UNIT NO: 2 — Teaching, learning and assessment in education and training

UNIT NO: 3 — Theories, principles and models in education and training

UNIT NO: 4 — Wider professional practice and development in education and training

UNIT NO: 5 — Developing, using and organising resources in a specialist area

UNIT NO: 6 — Inclusive practice

UNIT NO: 7 — Teaching in a specialist area

How long does the course take?

There are approximately 1200 hours of study time required for this course. Most learners will take between 8-12 months to earn their qualification. The DET can be completed online on your own schedule, but do note that the course requires a minimum of 100 hours of teaching practice and to be observed 8 times in the classroom.

How much does the course cost?

You can enrol on the Level 5 course for a simple one-off payment of £980 or ten monthly instalments of £98. Our prices are all inclusive and include VAT. There will never be any hidden fees.

What is the difficulty level of the course?

The Level 5 Diploma in Education is an advanced course suitable for those who are already in a teaching/training role. You will be required to demonstrate 100 hours of teaching practice and to be observed 8 times in the classroom. 

If you are a beginner interested in becoming a teacher, we recommend starting with the Level 3 Award in Education and Training. This is the foundational course and will provide you with the basic knowledge and skills required for becoming a teacher or trainer.

What are the requirements for enrolment?

Learners must be:

  • Aged 19 and above
  • Have adequate reading and communication skills
  • Not have a criminal background which prevents them from working with young people or vulnerable adults
  • Hold a relevant qualification at a level above that of their learners; ideally at least Level 3 in their area of specialism
  • Have a basic grasp of literacy, language, numeracy and ICT

Learners must also be able to commit to 100 hours of teaching time in a classroom.

The Diploma in Education and Training is one of many courses available for enrolment online at CTC Training. By using CTC, learners will gain access to the student portal, where they can view course content and upload assessments at their leisure. Enrol today for the reduced price of just £980 and begin your journey to becoming a teacher or trainer.

Related Courses

Rated 4.8out of 5
Based on 271 reviews Logo

Trusted by some of the UK’s biggest brands...



No products in the basket.