Adult Education Training Glossary Trusted Site
4.78out of 5
286 reviews

Posted by: CTC Training

Qualifications can be a minefield of abbreviations and esoteric phrases. CTLLS, DET, QTLS — it can be hard to get your head around it all. That’s why we’re here to make it easy. On this page, you’ll find a list of abbreviations and phrases commonly found throughout our website and across the wider industry.

Education training glossary


AET is short for Award in Education and Training. This is a level-3 introductory course that used to be referred to as PTLLS. However, the name was changed along with a few minor updates to the course.


CET is short for Certificate in Education and Training.  This is a level-4 teaching course, a more advanced level to the AET. This used to be referred to as CTLLS before the name was changed along with a few minor updates to the course.


CTLLS is short for Certificate in Teaching in the Lifelong Learning Sector. It was the associate teacher qualification in 2007 but is now retired. When people refer to CTLLS these days, they are mostly referring to the CET, which is the new name given to the CTLLS, along with a few minor updates to the course.


CPD is short for Continuous professional development. You might see this being used in reference to keeping yourself up-to-date with your personal training and skill development. 


DET is short for Diploma in Education and Training. This is an advanced, level-5 teaching qualification and will enable you to apply for QTLS.


DTLLS is short for Diploma in Education and Training is the old name for the course recognised now as the DET. The course was given a refresh along with a new name.


ESOL is short for English for speakers of other languages. You may see this in reference to English classes for those who do not speak English as their first language.


FE is short for Further education. Further education is defined as all state-funded education and training below degree level after the age of 16.


HE is short for Higher education. This refers to education delivered at university level. However, despite being delivered at university level, higher education can also be found through other providers.


HEIs is short for Higher education institutions. These are providers of higher education, though not exclusively universities.


PTLLS is short for Preparing to Teach in the Lifelong Sector. It is the name formerly given to the qualification now known as the AET. The name was changed along with a few updates to the course.


QTLS is short for Qualified Teacher Learning and Skills. This is a status awarded to individuals who have demonstrated their competency as a teacher. This is a recognised qualification for teaching in schools and can be obtained after completing the Diploma in Education and Training

Vocational courses

Vocational courses are courses associated with a profession. They are typically practical training courses.

Work-based training

Work-based training is training that is delivered in the workplace itself.

Got your head around it yet? At CTC we try to make learning as simple and smooth as possible. Enrol on one of our courses and you’ll gain access to our 24/7 student portal, where you can view course content and upload assessments at your leisure. Plus, you’ll be assigned a named tutor who you can contact any time for help or support. 

Start the next chapter in your career with CTC Training. View our courses online or contact our team for more information.

Related Courses

Rated 4.8out of 5
Based on 286 reviews Logo

Trusted by some of the UK’s biggest brands...



No products in the basket.