What are the HLTA standards? (A Checklist) Trusted Site
4.8out of 5
235 reviews

Posted by: CTC Training

Progressing from a teaching assistant to a higher level teaching assistant (HLTA) brings with it additional responsibilities, more learning opportunities and a higher salary. 

Becoming an HLTA is a natural progression for teaching assistants, but will require two things:

What are the 33 HLTA standards?

Check out the full 33 standards below in our handy checklist:

The 33 HLTA standards

Those awarded HLTA status must demonstrate, through their practice, that they:

Section 1: Professional values and practice

1. Have high expectations of children and young people with a commitment to helping them fulfil their potential
2. Establish fair, respectful, trusting, supportive and constructive relationships with children and young people
3. Demonstrate the positive values, attitudes and behaviour they expect from children and young people
4. Communicate effectively and sensitively with children, young people, colleagues, parents and carers
5. Recognise and respect the contribution that parents and carers can make to the development and well-being of children and young people
6. Demonstrate commitment to collaborative and cooperative working with colleagues
7. Improve their own knowledge and practice including responding to advice and feedback.

Section 2: Professional knowledge and understanding

8. Understand the key factors that affect children and young people’s learning and progress
9. Know how to contribute to effective personalised provision by taking practical account of diversity
10. Have sufficient understanding of their area(s) of expertise to support the development, learning and progress of children and young people
11. Have achieved a nationally recognised qualification at level 2 or above in English/literacy and mathematics/numeracy
12. Know how to use ICT to support their professional activities
13. Know how statutory and non-statutory frameworks for the school curriculum relate to the age and ability ranges of the learners they support
14. Understand the objectives, content and intended outcomes for the learning activities in which they are involved
15. Know how to support learners in accessing the curriculum in accordance with the special
educational needs (SEN) code of practice and disabilities legislation
16. Know how other frameworks, that support the development and well-being of children and young people, impact upon their practice.

Professional skills

Teaching and learning activities must take place under the direction and supervision of an assigned teacher and in accordance with arrangements made by the headteacher of the school.

Section 3: Planning and expectations

17. Use their area(s) of expertise to contribute to the planning and preparation of learning activities
18. Use their area(s) of expertise to plan their role in learning activities
19. Devise clearly structured activities that interest and motivate learners and advance their learning
20. Plan how they will support the inclusion of the children and young people in the learning activities
21. Contribute to the selection and preparation of resources suitable for children and young people’s interests and abilities.

Section 4: Monitoring and assessment

22. Monitor learners’ responses to activities and modify approaches accordingly
23. Monitor learners’ progress in order to provide focused support and feedback
24. Support the evaluation of learners’ progress using a range of assessment techniques
25. Contribute to maintaining and analysing records of learners’ progress.

Section 5: Teaching and learning activities

26. Use effective strategies to promote positive behaviour
27. Recognise and respond appropriately to situations that challenge equality of opportunity
28. Use their ICT skills to advance learning
29. Advance learning when working with individuals
30. Advance learning when working with small groups
31. Advance learning when working with whole classes without the presence of the assigned teacher
32. Organise and manage learning activities in ways which keep learners safe
33. Direct the work, where relevant, of other adults in supporting learning.

Think you’ve got what it takes to become an HLTA? If you feel you can demonstrate the 33 standards listed above, then it’s time to earn your Level 4 Certificate in Higher Level Teaching Assistant. Enrol with CTC Training and you’ll get access to our 24/7 student portal, where you can view course content and upload assessments at your leisure. With CTC, you’ll get full flexibility over your learning and can work to a schedule that suits you.

Enrol today or contact our team for more information.

Related Courses

Training course icon Level 4 Certificate in Higher Level Teaching Assistant (HLTA)

Aimed at learners employed in a teaching assistant role who wish to progress to Higher Level Teaching Assistant status.


Rated 4.8out of 5
Based on 235 reviews

Trusted by some of the UK’s biggest brands...



No products in the basket.

This website uses cookies to enhance your browsing experience and deliver personalised ads. By clicking “Accept All Cookies”, you agree to the storing of cookies on your device to enhance site navigation, analyse site usage, and assist in our marketing efforts.

More Information Accept All Cookies