PTLLS Qualification Guide Trusted Site
4.78out of 5
286 reviews

Posted by: CTC Training

Do you aspire to become a teacher but have no prior experience of training or teaching? The PTLLS qualification (now known as the AET qualification) is your first step towards a challenging and rewarding teaching career.

PTLLS Qualification Guide

In this guide, you’ll find out exactly what the qualification is, why it is useful, and everything you need to know about the course.

If you would rather watch the video guide, please find this below:


What is a PTLLS qualification?

PTLLS stands for ‘Preparing to Teach in the Lifelong Learning Sector’. It is a nationally-recognised qualification needed for starting your teaching career.

PTLLS is widely recognised as the name of the level 3 teaching qualification, but the name has recently been changed to the Award in Education and Training (AET).  The AET and PTLLS qualifications are broadly similar but small updates to the qualification structure and criteria have been made to refresh and modernise the content.

The course is offered as a first step towards teaching in post-16 education. It is the foundation level for teaching and covers all the basic teaching skills.

What does a PTLLS qualification allow you to do?

The PTLLS qualification provides you with the basic knowledge and tools for becoming an effective and inclusive teacher. It is the foundation needed to proceed onto more advanced courses and move up the ladder towards a teaching role.

What does the course involve?

The course will help you to understand the essential aspects of working as a teacher, including health and safety and equal opportunities.

There are three units within the course:

UNIT NO: 1 — Understanding the Roles, Responsibilities and Relationships in Education and Training

This introductory unit helps you to understand the introduction of teaching including health and safety, equal opportunities and the other professionals you may have to work with.

UNIT NO: 2 — Understanding and using inclusive learning and teaching approaches in education and training.

This unit helps you to understand how people learn, the ways in which people communicate and how to use a range of different teaching methods and resources to help you meet your learners’ individual needs.

UNIT NO: 3 — Understanding the principles and practices of assessment.

This unit identifies what assessment is and how to deliver excellent assessment practice. The unit is ideal for anybody with an interest in assessing workplace achievement or those delivering regulated qualifications and awards.

How long does the course take?

The level 3 teaching qualification takes approximately 120 hours to complete. With CTC, you can complete the course at your own leisure. Enrol in the course through CTC and you’ll gain 24/7 access to the student portal, where you can view course content and upload assignments. The 120 hours can be spread across a maximum of 12 months, meaning you can complete the course on a schedule that suits you.

If you’re interested in becoming a teacher, enrol with CTC Training today. Find out more about the Level 3 Award in Education and Training here.

For more information about what CTC Training can offer you, contact our team today.

Give us a call on 0195 276 9025 for advice.

Rated 4.8out of 5
Based on 286 reviews Logo

Trusted by some of the UK’s biggest brands...



No products in the basket.